Jump to main content

2022 Personnel Categories

Jane Mercer Researcher of the Year Award entries are now open.

Every year we asked our valued members of FOCAL to nominate a Footage Person, Footage Company or Researcher for our personnel awards.

Please read about the individual categories below and see the eligibility guidelines.

If you have any queries please contact [email protected] – we look forward to hearing from you.

James RM Hunt – Winner 2021 The Jane Mercer Researcher of the Year Award for the production Ronnie's

Jane Mercer Researcher of the Year Award

The recipient is an individual Footage Researcher (or team), who has demonstrated outstanding achievement whilst being primarily responsible for the footage research undertaken for a production(s) or project(s) premiered or released during the qualifying year (2021). Such production(s) or project(s) can include series that have been aired over many years, providing the cited episode was premiered in 2021.

The Jury will be looking for an individual or team who displayed some or all of the following qualities:

  • Depth of knowledge;
  • Tenacity;
  • Thoroughness;
  • Imagination;
  • An ability to enhance and protect the integrity of the footage.

The above is not an exhaustive list and the submitter may wish to highlight other areas of excellence to the jury. Nominations can be made by anyone, except the person themselves, but all submissions must include authorisation from the nominee.

Anyone can nominate a Researcher for this award which is not restricted to FOCAL International members.

For more information please read the the eligibility guidelines. To enter a researcher please use the FOCAL Awards entry platform – entry.focalintawards.org